Mission Areas

We’ve organized our district is into seven mission areas based on geographic location and cultural-linguistic context.

Each mission area has a Mission Area Leader who assists our district superintendent in:

  1. Building a sense of community and camaraderie among the pastors of that mission area;
  2. Promoting the cause of Christ by encouraging and strategizing for ministerial development, church growth, evangelism, starting and restarting churches;
  3. Carrying out specific assignments on behalf of the district superintendent and the District Advisory Board; and
  4. Serving as a communications bridge between the local congregations and the district. (Manual 200.6, cf. 238.8)

District Map

Our district was born August 28, 1904 when Phineas F. Bresee organized Chicago First Church during a tent meeting on the corner of S Lexington Ave (now University Ave) and E 62nd St.

Today, our district mission field includes 12 counties in northeastern Illinois: Cook, DuPage, Ford, Grundy, Iroquois, Kane, Kankakee, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, Vermilion, and Will.

Two thirds of our Illinois neighbors live here, and they come from all over the world.

Please join us as we pray for our local churches.

Click to interact with our district map!

Praying for what’s next

Everywhere we already have a local church is a testimony of God’s presence among us.

Please join us as we pray for the following communities that God will continue sending workers out into the harvest field.

Jesus told them, “The harvest is plentiful, but the workers are few. Ask the Lord of the harvest, therefore, to send out workers into his harvest field.” (Luke 10:2 NIV)